A Reunion Night + Whisper of Flowers +
If Her Flowers Fall Off

27/1(Sun) 4:00pm, agnès b. CINEMA
*Followed by Seminar



A Reunion Night


Taiwan / 2012 / Color / 29min
In Mandarin, Zhejiang dialect and Hakka
with Chinese and English subtitles
Director : Chiu Chui-Lung

How many reunions can a family share in a lifetime? Through matchmaking company, Shanshu, a Taiwanese man with Hakka accent, married a Jiejiang woman called Yuhua. The couple makes a living by selling tangyuan - glutinous rice balls on the street. One day, Yuhua’s sister who also married a Taiwanese decided to elope to Nanzih with her new boyfriend. Yuhua decided to follow her sister to Nanzih with her son Anan. Despite the fact that Shanshu is reluctant to let his wife go, he is unable to express his genuine feeling towards Yuhua. As the quiet but tender husband stands shoulder to shoulder with the wife who has left her hometown, their hearts are weighed down by different matters. Train departs, yet their future remains unknown.

Director’s Biography

Chiu Chui-Lung
Was graduated from Department of Visual Communication Design, and currently attending Graduate School in Department of Motion Pictures, National Taiwan University of Arts. His works focuses on the daily life of peasants in North Taiwan. His productions included “A Trip for Nobody” (2009), “Family Portrait : Fu Xiao-Shun, the youngest uncle & Fu Zhen Fan, the younger cousin” (2011), “A Reunion Night” (2011), “the Brighter day” (2012).

Honor
South Taiwan Film Festival 2012

Whisper of Flowers


Taiwan / 2012 / 彩色Color / 29min
In Mandarin with Chinese and English subtitles
Director: Lau Kek Huat

Zhuyuan, age 45, thought he was dead when he saw a blooming lotus, as what he wished. Yet rather miraculously he was saved by his wife and son, who did not even notice Zhuyuan’s intention to commit suicide. In this family of three, each of them had their own sorrows and struggles and they were trying hard to keep their emotions in check. Silence permeated the room and their conversation was fragmented. The chain smoking continues and people remain silence. How can one survive in this world of confusion and suppression?

Director’s Biography

Lau Kek Huat
Was born in Malaysia. He is now pursuing his studies at the National Taiwan University, Department of Motion Picture. He is one of the founders of “The Alliance of Malaysian Film Students in Taiwan”, and has produced many short films, included “rat” (2009), “Cul de Sac Forest”(2009), “when it rains”(2012), “A Scene to the Sea”(2012).  His 2009 work “rat” was selected for various film festivals, such as Fresh Film Fes.、Urban Nomad Film Fest、Singapore Short film festival and Munich - International Film Festival (Germany).

Honor
Nominated for "Jury Prize", Global Chinese Universities Student Film and TV Festival 2011
Avyalik International Film Festival 2012
South Taiwan Film Festival 2012
Shanghai Film Festival 2012

If Her Flowers Fall Off


Taiwan / 2012 / Color / 33min
In Mandarin and Hoklo with Chinese and English subtitles
Director : Zhang Zaixing

“If Her Flowers Fall Off” tells the complex story between a chronically ill father and a young lady who works at night club, the young lady’s younger sister and her drug trafficking boyfriend. It is said that flowers in full bloom would become detached from its branches, and the branch in turn withers and dies. On the boisterous island of Taiwan, its inhabitants continue to struggle. Who would choose to confront the difficulties of life amidst such adversities?

Director’s Biography

Zhang Zaixing
Was born in 1986, and is now studying in the Graduate School of Media Arts in Kunshan University of Technology in Tainan, Taiwan. He has taken part in the performance of different major films and tele-films: “Monga” (2010), “Juliets” (2011), “Staggered” (2012) etc. His 16 mm short film “The Steps of Realization” (2010) received the “best main actor award” of the 33rd Golden Harvest Awards. The film was also enlisted in official selection of the “Southern Award of the Chinese Film Contest” of the 10th Southern Film Festival, in the “Golden Lion Review Film” of the International Students’ Film Festival of the Taipei Film Festival. It was also well received by the film critics and major press reviews.

Honor
South Taiwan Film Festival 2012

湯圓糰子+花開的夜晚
+花若離枝

27/1(Sun) 4:00pm, agnès b. CINEMA
*特設映後座談會



湯圓糰子


台灣 / 2012 / 彩色 / 29min
國語、浙江話與客語對白,中英文字幕
導演 : 邱垂龍

「一家人一輩子能有幾次團圓?」台灣客家人善樹透過婚介公司娶了個浙江老婆玉花,兩小口在路邊賣湯圓維生。有一天,同嫁往台灣的胞姊蘭花跟新交的男友逃到楠梓,玉花決定帶同兒子安安一同前往楠梓,善樹在送妻兒去客運站時,不由自主感到忐忑。這個不善言卻內心溫柔的男人,與離鄉背井的過埠新娘,公路邊,默默相對的一家人各懷心事,客運在夜色中前行,馳向未知的前路。

導演簡介

邱垂龍
臺灣桃園人,從事影像與文字藝術創作多年,題材多以臺灣北部庶民生活及地理地域為主。目前就讀於臺藝大電影學系碩士班,並於崗華影視擔任專案副導演。作品包括《秘密旅行》(2009)、《家庭肖像:小舅符小順與表弟符哲釩》(2011)、《湯圓糰子》(2011)、《晴朗的的日子》(2012)等。

殊榮
2012南方影展

花開的夜晚


台灣 / 2012 / 彩色 / 29min
國語對白,中英文字幕
導演 : 廖克發

看見一朵荷花的盛開,45歲的志遠以為他已經死去,因他迫切地想要結束自己的生命。被不察覺自己要自殺的妻兒意外救回性命,在哭泣的房子中,他們仨各有憂鬱。每人都守著自己的情緒,在同一張餐桌上保持沉默,最多顧左右而言他。抽不盡的煙與說不出的話,在這樣的世界中,要面對幾多抑壓才可以活過來。

導演簡介

廖克發
出生於馬來西亞,現就學於國立台灣藝術大學電影所,與在台馬來西亞同學組成「馬來西亞旅台電影學生同盟」,曾拍攝多套短片,包括《鼠》(2009)、《愛在森林邊境》(2009)、《雨落誰家》(2012)、《一起去看海》(2012)。2009年作品《鼠》入圍多個影展,包括:捷克卡羅維瓦利的學生影展、城市遊牧影展、新加坡短片影展及德國慕尼黑國際學生影展等。

殊榮 2011全球華語大學生影視獎「評審團獎」提名

2012土耳其艾瓦勒克國際影展
2012南方影展
2012上海電影節

花若離枝


台灣 / 2012 / 彩色 / 33min
國語與閩南話對白,中英文字幕
導演 : 張再興

一個病重的老父和一個在夜總會工作的姐姐,年輕美麗的妹妹和販毒的男友,彼此互相糾纏,花開到荼靡就會脫枝,留下花枝漸漸脫黃枯萎,在一片青山綠水的寶島,人人掙扎求存。生活如此艱苦,在絕境中誰都想逃走,有幾個最後仍然可以選擇堅毅地面對?

導演簡介

張再興
生於1986年,現就讀於崑山科技大學媒體藝術研究所。曾參與多部台灣電視電影創作演出,包括《艋舺》(2010)、《茱麗葉》(2011)、《交錯》(2012)等。以代表作品超十六釐米劇情短片《覺悟的腳步》(2010) 榮獲第33屆金穗獎「最佳男主角獎」、入圍第10屆南方影展「南方獎華人影片競賽」單元劇情類、入圍臺北電影藝術節國際學生影展「金獅獎觀摩單元」等多項肯定,及受到許多各大媒體報紙的報導與影評人的青睞,被影評人評為「驚艷之作」。

殊榮
2012南方影展