Vincent Chui
Festival Curator of HKIndieFF 2013, Artistic Director of Ying E Chi

The Chinese Independent Filmmaking Fundraising Project was started last year without much thorough preparation – it was driven solely by a desire to create a platform where independent film makers in Chinese communities in China, Hong Kong, Macau and Taiwan can share and recommend films with and for one another. It has been most uplifting that films such as “Hand In Hand” (2010), “The Cold Winter” (2011), “Days After N Coming” (2012) have continued to be screened at different independent film festivals at various cities after the initial screening at HKIFF. What is even more thrilling is that as part of our Co-producer project, we have been able to consolidate enough funding to finish six short films in Hong Kong and Chongqing. These six short films will be screened in this year’s HKIndieFF 2013.

Our hearts go out to Mr. Lai Yuchang from South Taiwan Film Festival for curating the Taiwan section of this festival. And to Ying Liang, director of “When Night Falls” (2012), for curating the Mainland China section. It is to our great loss that our partner festival at Chongqing would not be able to kick off due to widespread suppression and censorship. But we stand in solidarity, by continuing to invite mainland directors to Hong Kong for exchange, and by probing what roles Hong Kong can play in this very situation itself.

Ying Liang
Chinese Independent Filmmaking Alliance Curator of China Program

For the V-Artivists
A note on CIFA’s China Section

If the CCP officials’ criticism on Hong Kong’s attempt for independence was really grounded, what would happen if we call “Hong Kong Independent Film Festival” (HKIFF) the “Hong Kong Film Festival for Independence” instead? Would we be charged with treason, for acting against the motherland? Haha… And indeed, “independence” ought to exist between people; countries and professions…The so-called “scientific” concept of development would only make sense when we can face the diversity of the individual and the many possibilities in the world with honesty…Yet this concept of development may vanish for good as our “Prince Xi” steps up to power. Of course, the concept itself was not “scientific” to begin with.

Zhou Xueping recorded the reactions of the elderly as she visited her home village in Shandong, during the process which she asked the villagers to comment on “The Three Years of Natural Disasters.” The two films that came out of this process are “The Starving Village” and “Satiated Village”. “Listening to Third Grandmother’s Story” features the conversation between director Wen Hui and her Third grandmother in a Yunnan village, where the two conversed about topics from land reforms to marriage to the art form of dance. In “Rainy Dawn Windy Dusk” Hu Lifu visited the parents of Xia Junfeng “the murderer” in Shenyang, and depicted the hardships and history of a family. Hu Jia and Zeng Jinyan’s experiences of house arrest in Beijing culminated into “Prisoners in Freedom City”, where the two documented via first person narrative their daily lives so closely shared with the police.

It is a great predicament to be born into the prosperity of China today, but the unrelenting work carried out by independent film practitioners is a gem amidst difficult times. The China section of CIFA strives to manifest these practitioners’ works and states of mind.

 

Ying Liang
21st November, Taipei

Lai Yu Chang
Chinese Independent Filmmaking Alliance Curator of Taiwan Program

The competition program, South Award for Chinese filmmakers has been held by South Taiwan Film Festival (STFF) for 8 years, though it had been suspended the due to the lack of funding in 2011. However, STFF realize how important to provide an appropriate stage with public participation — as STFF has been promised to be a supporter of independent film makers — the competition has been re-opened.

Even with a halt in last year, the STFF had still received more than 230 creations from local, Hong Kong, Macau and China. As competitor from Hong Kong and Macau increasingly more, with no surprise, 3 films from Hong Kong and Macau had been selected.

In a nutshell, directors and academics of various specialties had helped STFF to do the recommendation for HKIFF; high-profile issues like environment and foreign spouses are presented by “Film Class in the End of World”, “A Reunion Night”, “Out of Place”, “Gigantic Monster Strikes Taiwan” features the perspective of Taiwan culture from self-portraits of their lives. “If Her Flowers Fall Off”, “Whisper of Flowers” have shown potentials of two fresh directors.

All in all, The STFF would be very pleased to have films with distinguished, edgy, experimental, social cares from Hong Kong, Macau. And love to keep introducing up-coming independent films in Taiwan to audience all over the world. The best!

崔允信
【香港獨立電影節】策展人之一、影意志藝術總監

去年跟來自台灣和中國大陸的朋友,在沒有準備很充足的情況下就發起了華人民間電影聯盟,希望可互相推薦影片,以及討論中港台澳四個華人社羣的獨立電影人如何尋找自己的定位,互補不足,值得高興的是當中有些電影如《牽阮的手》(2010)、《暖冬》(2011)、《那年春夏‧之後》(2012),在香港獨立電影節首映後繼續在港有很多不同的放映機會,也有其他城市的獨立影展希望邀請這些電影參加,最鼓舞的就是聯合製片人計劃能夠如期從民間集結到足夠資金在香港、重慶兩地完成六部短片,並會於今年香港獨立電影節中公映。

今年多謝台南南方影展頼育章先生策劃台灣部份,但同時,多個大陸民間的電影節都受到打壓,聯盟伙伴之一重慶電影節亦未能如期舉行,今年大陸部份的電影由因拍了一部犯禁的電影「我還有話要說」的導演應亮策劃,亦會多邀中國的導演到港交流,作為一種聲援,也可繼續探討香港可扮演的角色。

應亮
華人民間電影聯盟中國節目策展人

影像行動者們
——CIFA中國部份策劃闡述

假設中共官員批評「港獨」的言論真有理據,難道我們把「香港獨立電影節」簡稱為「港獨影展」,會被指為「分裂祖國」嗎?呵呵……而事實上,「獨立」本該在人與人之間、國與國之間、行業與行業之間顯性地存在……坦率面對個體的多元化和世界的可能性,才符合「科學發展觀」嘛——儘管隨「習王儲」登基,這個「觀」可能不會再被提及了。當然,它本來也與「科學」無關的。

鄒雪平回到老家山東的村里,不但請老人們對「三年自然災害」做了口述,還拍下了他們對自己拍攝行為的反應,這兩部片分別叫《飢餓的村子》和《吃飽的村子》。文慧回到老家雲南村裡,與從未謀面的三奶奶好好地聊了一次天,從土改聊到婚姻,甚至舞蹈藝術,片子叫《聽三奶奶講過去的事情》。胡力夫來到瀋陽,拜訪了「殺人者」夏俊峰的父母,描繪出了一個家庭的困境和歷史,片子叫《朝來寒雨晚來風》。胡佳和曾金燕被困北京家裡,用第一人稱的畫面和聲音紀錄了警察們與自己朝夕相處的「日常生活」,片子叫《自由城的囚徒》。

當今中國,生逢其盛為不幸,而獨立電影工作者們的持續行動恰為不幸中之幸。本次「華人民間電影聯盟」的「中國部份」將呈現這些影像行動者們的作品和面貌。

應亮
11月21日於美麗島之都台北

賴育章
華人民間電影聯盟台灣節目策劃人

南方影展的「南方獎─華人影片競賽」單元在2011年因經費不足而停辦一年,今年匯聚了影展的大部分資源而再度重新復辦,這對南方影展與台灣獨立電影的創作者而言,意義重大非凡,不僅讓缺乏商業映演管道的獨立電影可以藉影展功能來與一般民眾分享交流,也讓台灣少數由民間自主策辦影像競賽的南方影展,能繼續肩負著挖掘新銳導演及推廣優秀獨立電影展演的重責使命。

雖然歷經一年的停辦,今年南方影展的競賽單元仍從台灣、香港、澳門及中國收到兩百二十多報名作品。最令南方影展興奮的一點,是這次港澳地區的參賽作品數量有著明顯比往年增加許多的趨勢,也因此今年最後共有三部港澳地區的影片入圍了本屆南方影展的競賽單元,破了往年影展紀錄。所以正在閱讀這篇短文的港澳觀眾朋友及創作者,期盼在來年能繼續將精心作品踴躍報名南方影展,支持我們將優秀的港澳獨立影片引薦給台灣觀眾。

這次在香港獨立電影節放映的六部南方影展所推薦影片,皆是由台灣多位的專業導演及影視學界老師所費心挑選出來,其中:《世界末日前的電影課》及《湯圓糰子》所呈現的是台灣目前最關心的環保和外籍配偶的社會議題;《鄉關何處》與《大怪獸台灣上陸》展現出台灣紀錄片導演由自身生命觀照至社會文化脈絡的傑作;而《花若離枝》和《花開的夜晚》的角色細膩刻畫已可預見導演的未來潛力。

在未來,南方影展將會持續引薦台灣優秀的獨立電影,也期待各位港澳觀眾朋友給予批評指教,謝謝!