It takes time for things to grow. One cannot expect fruits to be borne in a day. Similarly for a film festival whose mission is to foster a lasting, deep-rooted culture rather than to be a mere red carpet event.

Internationally renowned Japanese documentary filmmaker Ogawa Shinsuke once described his work as “Using a period of thirteen years to make a harvest of films”. It had never meant to be a harvest solely for himself and his team alone, but also for the people under his camera and the audience, who could as well benefit from the process. The significance of the process and the films lies not in the box office success or the fame that followed; rather, it is because of the enduring intellectual, emotional, spiritual impact brought forth through the process of the filmmaking to those who had participated, and also to the audience back then as well as those in the years to come.

This year, with three highlighted programs: “Indie Focus – Ogawa Shinsuke”, “Chinese Independent Filmmaking Alliance” and “Indie Nations”, Hong Kong Independent Film Festival (HKIndieFF) 2011-12 is having a prolonged schedule from the usual two weeks as in past years to more than three months. With the belief that it takes time for continuing efforts to foster a sustainable culture of critical appreciation and mutual discussion of cinema, we decide to take it slow yet and precisely to take things even more seriously.

Being our first program, “Indie Focus – Ogawa Shinsuke” will showcase altogether seven films alongside two discussion seminars. It had taken many years for Ogawa’s harvest to come, and it was only through years of unceasing, patient observation and interaction with his subjects-in-question could his works finally came to being, and still make the tremendous impact on audience today in Hong Kong.

May we all start our own time of harvesting with the heritages of Ogawa Shinsuke.

要做好一件事,有時候,是急不來的。尤其當我們所致力的,是去培育一種落地生根的文化,而非單單一次個別事件,一場曲終人散的盛事,一次過目即忘的電影節。

日本已故紀錄片大師小川紳介這麼形容過他的影片:「用十三年的時間,收割了電影。」這裡指的收成,不止屬於小川本人或他的團隊,而是拍攝的、被拍攝的,與及觀賞的都能夠從過程和結果當中滋取養分;這裡談的養分,不單是影片得到多少場放映、多少個觀眾、讚好或名利,而是影片為那些參與製作的、當代以至後世觀眾帶來多廣闊、深遠的知性影響,所開拓的視野和思考空間。

今年,由影意志主辦的【香港獨立電影節2011-12】將由往年短短兩星期的映期,申延至超過三個月時間,分三個環節進行,首個重點環節,正是「獨立焦點-小川紳介」的七場放映及兩場座談會。談起小川紳介這個名字,影迷定不會感到陌生,他自60年代開始的「三里塚系列」,直至1986年最後一部長片《牧野村千年物語》,無不是他和拍攝團隊紮根當地、與村民共處多年,甚至自己也親身學會下田以後才最終「收割」得來的成果。其中的拍攝手法、所付出的投入,與及影片由之呈達的紀實風格、人民精神和文化承傳,都是開創先河的示範,亦成為日本以至世界紀錄片史上不容置疑的里程碑。

儘管小川紳介留下了十多部如此彌足珍貴的作品,它們在港的公開放映卻少之又少,最近一次已是1993年的事,其影碟亦從來未有發行,即使是資深影迷也難得一睹。而縱然這些影片所紀錄的是日本三十多年前的社會面貌,其中體現的普遍價值和意義,卻更值得讓我們在此時、此地的社會氛圍下一再細味與申張,一同思考影像以至生活當中更多的可能性,同時鼓勵影像創作者為社會現況留下更自發、獨立的顯像和探索。

同時,我們深信,一場成功的電影節,所成就的絕不應止於眼前回報;常說香港事事過於急進,談成效也就離不開速度,但我們不一定要這樣子,也不需要這樣子。要營造具深度、可延續的創作和賞晰土壤,需時非一朝一夕,那就讓我們放慢來,也放眼於更長遠的、能夠與所有人共享的收成。

就讓我們從小川紳介的遺產開始,不急不躁,一同開展收割的季節。